Filipino Family Tradition – Visiting our dear departed, bringing flowers and lighting candles during All Saint’s Day.

All Saint’s Day is a national holiday thus this is the day that most families visit their dear departed, bringing flowers, lighting candles and saying prayers. It is a daunting task for me this year as I do not have a vehicle to use to buy flowers and bring these to the different cemeteries where our dear ones are buried.  But, I WAS ABLE TO DO IT!! Imagine as I am about to turn into my senior years, I am experiencing what I have not done when I was younger. I will whisper that it is the fault of my husband as he left me……but I know he will answer back…you should have learned how to drive. Commuting from home to wherever I go, lugging my heavy bag, getting squeezed with all the people fighting to get a ride home, walking either very early in the morning from home to where jeepneys are available or late at night when I come home.  Sometimes I feel the burden, the tiredness but what can I do…..I will rather do this than DRIVE.  I think that it will be too stressful if I will be driving and since I am assigned in Antique, I have to commute every Friday night and early Monday morning.

Anyway, early morning, my niece Inday and I went to city to buy flowers.  We had breakfast at a fastfood restaurant and bought the flowers in my suki near the Jaro market.  Flowers are soooo expensive!  Inday went home ahead of me so she put the flowers in water before we do the arrangement.  I have to go to the City Proper to buy candles with cover.

?????????????

Flowers- Mums, spiders, glorious white, aster, etc.

Candles with cover

Candles with cover

I wanted to do the arrangement early evening of October 31 but I got stuck in the computer.watching replays of my favorite show haha.

arranging

Started arranging flowers at 4:30 AM………….I have to cut greens in our garden while it is still dark as it rained the previous afternoon.

One of the finished product

One of the finished product

Through the years, I think my style of flower arrangement is the same.  I can not do arrangements that are tall as it will be blown by the strong winds in the memorial parks.

Brod-in-law Larry (Boy) Hernandez

Brod-in-law Larry (Boy) Hernandez

First stop is Golden Haven Memorial Park where my brother-in-law Larry Hernandez is buried.  The marker is nie as it is granite.

The Kids

The Kids p- Nene Heart, Nene Angela (aka Yaya Dub wannabe), Jiljil and Noynoy.

with Donatello

with Donatello

Riding in our service tricycle

Riding in our service tricycle – that’s me and Nene Heart

Next we proceeded to the Garden of Ascension where my father-in-law, my husband and sister-in-law are interred.

Blas A. Gonzales - Father of my late Husband

Blas A. Gonzales – Father of my late Husband

Lighting candle for Sildo and Gina

Lighting candle for Sildo and Gina

The area where my husband and his sister are buried is quite windy.  It took us sometime to light the candle.  Our past tradition is to bring the flowers early in the morning, light the candles, put up the tent and come back in the late afternoon ( after hearing Mass) for a picnic and see the shows or just enjoy with all the other people in the Garden.  But this year, Jan is not around, our van is not functioning….so no tent and no picnic.  We will see next year what we can do.

?????????????

In the afternoon, we went to our town’s Catholic Cemetery to bring the flowers and hear mass.  It has also been our tradition to hear mass in the Cemetery every November 1.  In the past year’s, I bring the flowers early in the morning before we proceed to the Garden of Ascension…but since our van is not available (again for repair…need a new  or even a second hand vehicle..but I do not drive!)

Family Pantyon

Family Pantyon

We were informed that this area will be like in a memorial park where the pantyons are low lying with no structures…but our neighbor constructed a structure complete with roof!

Two Generations

Two Generations

My grandfather and grandmother (Father side) and my Tatay and Nanay.

?????????????

The two youngest member of the fourth generation Angela and Jillian

?????????????

Hearing mass while it is raining.  We have to take cover in one of the tents near us.  I should have set up our tent here.

?????????????

The survivors – thanks to the TMX  umbrella.  The structure near us is almost like a mausoleum in a area designated to be low pantyons.

 

?????????????

Another Filipino (Ilonggo?) tradition is to cook native delicacies using malagkit rice.  I have not cooked any of these dishes as my boys are not fond of these food.  This year my sister cooked Muasi (palitaw with muscovado sugar, sesame seeds and grated coconut.  When we were young Nanay  always cooks several types of malagkit delicacies..of course muasi (palitaw), inday-inday(malagkit balls cooked with young coconut and muscovado sugar, suman (biko), kalamay hati (very difficult to cook), etc.

2 thoughts on “Filipino Family Tradition – Visiting our dear departed, bringing flowers and lighting candles during All Saint’s Day.

Leave a Reply

