Christmas at Home

The first few Christmases we had as a small family were shared in my parent’s home.  When we had our small space in the city..we started with only Christmas lights hung in a wall to look like  Christmas tree. I think I bought our first Christmas tree in 1987 when the kids were six and three respectively.  When we had our own house we still used our old tree and I started collecting Christmas decors and ornaments.  A few years after, I bought a bigger one and my collection of ornaments also expanded.  I add only a few sets every years.  In 2009, it was the first time I adorned our tree with silver and a silver angel on top replacing our old capiz shell star.  I usually start adorning our tree right after All Soul’s Day.  My son commented that the color of our tree is SAD.  I told him it is not sad…it is happy as its silver and not grey.  Indeed our Christmas that year was the saddest ever as my husband left us a week before Christmas Day.  Ever since, I have not fully decorated our tree with silver.  I just used the silver trimmings with other colors.  I also make it a point to buy ornaments made from indigenous materials or made by our local artisans.

Our Christmas Tree this year

Our Christmas Tree this year

There are still ornaments that can be added maybe I’ll do it this weekend.

Angel made of abaca from Cagayan de oro City

Angel made of abaca from Cagayan de oro City

Angel made of natural abaca

Angel made of natural abaca

The following are pictures of ornaments bought several years ago.

decors from laguna

decors

My first Nativity Set made of olive wood from Bethlehem.

My first Nativity Set made of olive wood from Bethlehem. This is a gift from a good friend I met when we had a training in the United Kingdom in 1989.  I miss you my dear Samira Hassassian…I know you are very happy where you are now with the Lord….free from pain and anguish.    Beside the olive Nativity Set are two small ones made of resin.

Nativity Set made of Ceramic

White Nativity Set made of Ceramic .. my 19th in the collection.

I really wanted a Precious Moments Nativity Set but it is quite expensive.  Maybe next year I can already buy one :-D.

Merry Christmas everyone!!!

Leave a Reply

