Maundy Thursday Holy Mass (Mass of the Last Supper)

Ever since I can remember I have always attended the Maundy Thursday Mass as long as I am at home..maybe there were years during my elementary and early high school when I have no companion thus not able to hear Mass.  My parents are not very religious and its my aunt that has always brought me to Church.

I have always wanted to take pictures as the rituals during this mass are very symbolic but I hesitate as I might be disrupting the solemnity of the ceremony.  At the same time I do not have a good cellphone with camera.  Taking the DSLR to Church would make me very conspicuous.  This year since I recently acquired an iPhone I was able to take pictures at the same time not really attracting too much attention. The pictures are not very clear as I am seated quite far from the altar.

Concelebrated Mass with Monsignor Claudio Sale as main celebrant.

                               Concelebrated Mass with Monsignor Claudio Sale as main celebrant.

The Congregation - Most are seated outside the Church

                                                     The Congregation – Most are seated outside the Church

The side pews were removed for the procession of the Blessed Sacrament after the Mass.

The ritual of washing the feet of the Apostles were not done this year rather selected citizens representing different sectors were chosen.  I have no pictures of this.  After the mass, a procession inside the Church was done to transfer the Blessed Sacrament from the main Alter to the Altar of Repose on the right side of the Church.

Altar Boys carrying the Cross flanked by candles

                                                                   Altar Boys carrying the Cross flanked by candles

Hossanas

Girls in white dresses carrying flowers. We call them the Hossanas (I wonder why?..as they sing the Hossana?)

Readers followed by the Lay Ministers

                                                                 Readers followed by the Lay Ministers

Municipal Officials Carrying the Baldacchio (canopy) and the Mayor carrying (I still have to research this)

Municipal Officials Carrying the Baldacchino (canopy) and the Mayor carrying (I still have to research this)

The antique Baldacchino (canopy_

                                                                          The antique Baldacchino (canopy)

This antique canopy has been used for a long time.  It used to be deep red but now it has faded, there are a few holes and some of the tassels are unraveling.  It looks sad and raglike but still maintains some of its regal beauty.  I don’t know until when they will be using this, it should already be kept in a museum.

Lighted red Candelaria candles

                                                                       Lighted red Candelaria candles

The mass ended a bit early compared to the other years but the lighted Candelaria candles still look beautiful even if it is not yet dark.  Almost everybody brought along this year’s Candelaria candles colored red.  I forgot mine at the Office.

mons delgado alter of repose

                           Monsignor Delgado putting the Blessed Sacrament in the Alter of Repose

The faithful will be holding vigil until 12 midnight.  This is a good time to do the Visita Iglesia but our van is out-of-order.  We were only able to do a Visita Iglesia several years ago when my husband was still alive.  Last year I did the Visista Iglesia Good Friday morning visiting 14 Churches in the City.

Altar of Repose

                                                                                           Altar of Repose

Have a Blessed Holy Week.

 

Leave a Reply

